Web based circuit simulator

12 Jun 2011

Hi all,

I'm not very experienced with electronics, I'm a programmer by trade... which is why I always resort to using a microcontroller whenever I have an electronics project :)

I've noticed that others on this forum also seem to be very new to electronics, so I thought I would share a tool that I used to "prototype" all my electronics designs before I build them for real:

http://www.falstad.com/circuit/

Sadly it does require Java capable browser to run... Anyone here able to port it to Javascript and HTML5 (Then I could run it on my iPad)? I have no Java experience at all...

Anyway, this allows me to check my resistor values are correct without burning out real components... so it's worth using.

12 Jun 2011

Here is my "prototype" for driving a small electric motor using one of the Mbed's digital out pins (actually a PWM pin, but that's not important).

The Mbed can only source about 40mA from a single pin, so in order to drive an electric motor, one needs to use a transistor... The only transistor I had lying around were some BC337's, which are pretty normal NPN transistors, but the maximum current they can drive is 800mA... so I used this tool to find out what value resistor I needed on the Base... as the 5v electric motor I use had a resistance of 2.2ohms, I decided to use 400ohm resistor... which, if I've understood everything, will mean the maximum current through the transistor will be 654.5mA... Hooray! That gives me a 145.5mA tolerance for variance in the components :)

See below for a screenshot :)

/media/uploads/bloodline/mycircuit.jpg

-Edit- I've modeled the electric motor as a 2.2ohm resistor with a flyback diode, which I included in my design to protect the transistor from any reverse current off the motor (which I know happens with solenoids... not sure about motors).

12 Jun 2011