There are currently two options for choosing who can see your repositories.
This is a normal repository, which is seen in the listings of code on the site 'Code' and in your personal profile. It's readable by everyone, but only writable by you (or people you add).
This is another type of public repository - the repository is public and anyone can view it, but it's not advertised in any listings. Users will need to know the URL of the repository first.
1 related question:
Posting comments for this page has been disabled